Variety within Twitter

I have always had a twitter, but I don’t think I’ve ever used it to its full capacity until recently. I’ve always just used it as a way to communicate with friends and keep up with their lives as we all have started to separate onto different paths. Recently, I have learned to engage with the many professionals in my field around me. I have started to follow them, as well as having some of them follow me in return.
Through this I was able to read some of the incredible posting they put out on twitter. As an education major, I have followed many people within that field. They have put out ideas that not only are interesting to read, but I keeps me up to date with the advances in education.
For example, I started to follow MaryAnne, @mamasmiles. She is currently a stay at home mom, but has the background of a masters in education. Besides tweeting, she also has her own website, which is mamasmiles.com. Through her twitter, I have viewed countless ideas that she has posted. They’re educational and allow for the children to engage within the actives, as well as learn.
I tweeted her myself and expressed to her that I was extremely impressed with what she has posted and for my future classroom, I hope to be able to use some of those ideas. She was gracious enough to tweet me back and express that she was glad that I was enjoying them.
Through twitter I’ve learned that it is not only for socializing, but it is a tool that I can use for my future career.

2 thoughts on “Variety within Twitter

  1. Very nice!! At first when the professor suggested we connect with at least 75 others in our field I found the assignment a bit bazaar however, I have connected with some pretty interesting people in my field. I wish you all the best in your career.

  2. This was a very nice post, because I feel like we all felt the exact same way. Twitter always used to be a way of interacting with friends and family, finding out drama, and just staying in contact and up to date with their lives.

Leave a Reply

