Distractechnology

Education has definitely changed in the last 20 years. We have been inundated with technological advances. Personally, I have seen changes in students ability to be in a the present without devices- concentrating on the lectures we attend. Is it making our thinking disjointed? Is there something to be said for quiet, reflective thought? Or is the ‘external brain’ of the internet making us greater thinkers?

When I first came to college, I was anti-technology, I saw it as a distraction from all things that helped me come to larger thoughts. In a way I still think that is the case, in the time I will have written this short blog, I will have checked my Facebook,  Oh by the way my friend Jenea likes CVS for their banning of cigarettes, Matt says ” Just fun fact now is the best time to get out to a park around dusk to see/hear owls,” and Ashley recounts a funny story of a girl falling over a hot guy. Wait where was I. Oh yes so it is distracting but it’s not totally making me incapable of thinking. because I can quick do a search and find out what the experts say.

http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2008/07/is-google-making-us-stupid/306868/

And thank good for automatic spell check because I don’t actually have to know how to spell.Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 3.45.50 PM

and get more then one perspective… but if I don’t know if I should have used then or than- I can check

http://grammarist.com/usage/than-then/

But because I let to look at that I will probably check my email— I will see that Red DRAFT sign and know I still haven’t figured out what to say on the real thing I care about today… so it will sit there like that DRAFT… Yeah, never sure where to go with that- things left unsaid- no I got to get back to my Blog.

But by then it will be too close to out of time and I will think I should just find something quick that says technology isn’t all bad so I will search out a pithy quote or two:

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 4.07.42 PMI

 

I mean I really should have looked for another perspective- but am I gonna?  Or am I going to check out the latest things my friend Jen pinned– Wow I really do love those shoes.

Leave a Reply

